Review – E LEARNING 2010

Posted: 21/10/2010 in Week 10

FINAL PROJECT 2010

 

Review of E-Learning 2010
Over the last semester in E-Learning we have learnt about alot of different aspects of the elearning environment. Some of the aspects have been relatively easy for myself on a personal level because I consider myself a digital native even though I was born in the late 80s.
I have immersed myself in technology ever since I could remember. My first computer being an old 486 with Windows 3.0 being the latest and greatest thing, my digital experience started as GUIs (Graphic User Interfaces) were just appearing aka Windows 3.0, with DOS being phased out as the main computer experience.
This class, has allowed me to revisit alot of elements of elearning, which I have not used in quite a while, and at the same time allowed me to be creative in my design of my major assignment.
The blog world, or blogosphere as it is known is one element of the web which I have not paid much attention to, and it is something which I have enjoyed in this class. This was one area of the e-learning class which I have paid particular interest to because it is an element I have struggled with at times. Vijay, has been particularly knowledgeable with this element and has allowed me to learn at a pace which I have been able to immerse myself with. Blogging about what I have learnt each class has been quite rewarding because I was able to look back on my notes and review what I had learnt and unltimately pass on the knowledge to others in my class and in the digital community. Since this class I have started two other blogs to help my students understand Adobe Flash and have posted my first Video Log (vlog) since this class has finished – go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SeYGcGwmpc to view.
As discussed in my blogs, I believe that eventually online communication will develop into something that resembles a cross between Facebook/Second Life and Blogging combined. Through this course I have been able to discuss this possibility with my peers. Online communication is something that is relatively new, the year 1999 – 2000 is when the first mIRC chat functions existed. I believe that this form of communication will be able to revolutionalise the way we interact on the web and beyond. With Synchronous communication becoming second nature to us – see YouTube Video for example of the Future – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2qlHoxPioM particularly watch from 2.15 mins onwards to see what I mean by the future.
Podcasting is something that I have been proficient in before the class started, so I was able to use my already established knowledge to help others. Last year I developed a program using podcasting for students to record Time Tables on GarageBand. GarageBand is my preferred platform for podcasting, however if you would like a free program use Audacity, which can be found on http://www.download.com.
One element of the web (Web 2.0), which I have not known alot about, and something that I have found particularly useful, is Delicious, which is an online bookmarking service. Delicious is a program in which people create social networks about anything and everything that you find on the internet. Unlike conventional bookmarks, these are freely available online and you can even search for these bookmarks on http://www.delicious.com. I have found this particularly useful in my everyday life, because I have found alot of posted material on Adobe Flash, which I use in class, this platform is great because you do not need to google search you topic, you just visit delicious and find ones that people have already posted online.
One particular element of the e-learning class which I have found fascinating and will be following up in my classes teaching ICT in schools is Synchronous Technologies:
The different Synchronous tools on the Internet are: (I have provided a link where I have found the technology)
 Web conferencing for Sharing presentations and information
 Video conferencing for In-depth discussions with higher-touch interactions (http://www.skype.com)
 Chat for Information sharing of low-complexity issues
 Instant messaging for Ad hoc quick communications (web-messenger.eu/)
 White boarding for Co-development of ideas (http://www.wallwisher.com/)
 Application sharing for Co-development of documents (www.limewire.com/)
 Audio conferencing for Discussions and dialogue
I am currently using some Synchronous tools in class at the moment to test their potential in the classroom environment.
 Video conferencing for In-depth discussions with higher-touch interactions (http://www.skype.com)
I am using this software to set up buddy schools with my grade in primary school. The aim of this class is to set up communication in a Synchronous way, to initiate communication with a sister school. Then my grade will follow this up with Asynchronous communications such as wikis and blogs, to follow up the rich conversations that will follow through this topic.
 White boarding for Co-development of ideas (http://www.wallwisher.com/)

Wallwisher is something I have been using as a Synchronous tool to build ideas in class. It is an interactive brainstorming software which can be used in classes to build ideas.
Please visit: http://www.wallwisher.com/wall/4aict2010 and http://www.wallwisher.com/wall/3bict2010 for examples on how I have been using this software in my classes.
This e-learning Masters subject has allowed me to continue my development as a teacher and use the knowledge I have built to educate others. It has been a great experience.

Leave a Reply

